Has anyone completed Dregoth Ascending?

I have run my players through Dregoth Ascending I and II. Our next gaming session will likely take us halfway through Dregoth Ascending III. What happened at the end of Dregoth III for you? The final battle looks brutal.

I appreciate any feedback.

I am using 3.5 and I have been DMing since 1982.

I used this adventure roughtly 8 years ago. Players liked it very much. Yes, it was brutal, but it ended too soon. One of the PC was wizard and out of nowhere, because he didn’t have time to choose too well this spells, loaded himself with Disintegrates… After a successful attempt on the orbs, everything fallen apart for Dregoth. I don’t remember all the details, but it went too well for the PCs IMO. Probably my fault anyway :-)))))

I finished Dregoth Ascending! Since I only have 4 players, I allowed 2 characters each. Dregoth paralyzed 3 PCs and killed 2 more. It was close. The PCs managed to break the urn and obsidian box. Dregoth continued to fight for another round before he ran out of hit points. The turning point was a PCs use of the Star of Badna’s abilities. It was very touch and go for 6 rounds but the PCs survived by making Dregoth teleport away after they knocked him down below 75 hit points. They do not have a clue how to reverse the damage Dregoth has done. It was a lot of fun!

Grummore…thanks for your feedback. It help me be a bit tougher on my players. I set the bar a little and gave them a real challenge,

2 Likes

We just did this last night with some twists.

Earlier in my campaign before the Githyanki invasion, the characters stumbled though the portal in the Black Spine mountains, did just a touch of planar exploration, Ended up in the realm of Wee Jas, one of the characters was selected to become her follower, and her champion for this world called Athas. The same character also got Scorcher.