Kalidnay in Ravenloft (WIP)

I have been working on Kalidnay in Ravenloft for a few years now. Its been a slow slog and there is still much to improve. It is now at the stage where I can start getting some feedback. One thing that is required is more gothic horror elements. That is something that I plan to weave into the work.

Dread Domain of Kalidnay (PDF).

2 Likes

Apologies for the delay in responding. Itā€™s taken a few days to sit down and read the PDF. For what itā€™s worth, hereā€™s my 2 ceramic bits:

On the whole, I like it. Youā€™ve taken a fairly bare bones description of Kalidnay, largely devoid of gothic horror in the 2E RL products and made it a cultural product of Athas while bringing in some RL horror elements. Youā€™ve pushed Kalidnay in a very different way to how I have but it makes sense, fits into either RL or DS and has a number of different power players and centres for DMs and PCs to navigate between.

There are a few typos and sentences that donā€™t make sense (nothing that a re-read wonā€™t pick up). I do wonder whether or not youā€™ve spent too much time dwelling on what happens if Kalidnay makes it back to Athas, which lessens the ā€˜permanencyā€™ of the DP including a Domain in the Demiplane. Maybe take the existing references and include them in a ā€˜Dread Possibilityā€™ box? I also love the Dread Possibilities - theyā€™re well thought out, are relevant to the Domain and faithful to the dual campaign settings.