What is CC/Open Domain/OGL/etc

Hey, I’m sorry if this is a silly question, or if it’s in the wrong place, but when faced with something you don’t know, you can either look stupid or stay stupid, heh.

I’m a writer on the DM’s guild and I focus on adapting legacy content for 5e. Obviously, publishing WOTC/TSR content has it’s own rules, that’s not what I’m asking about.

Me myself, 100% of the time ALWAYS make sure that I get my sources legally. I know a lot of people don’t care, but it’s important to me that my sources are legal. So if I’m writing about something Dark Sun, and an internet source gives me what I need, I always make sure that they are legally allowed to tell/show me what they are telling/showing me.

I’m currently working on adapting some of the content from Dark Sun into setting-non-specific 5e works. My biggest problem is that I don’t know what sources I need and what I don’t. The easiest solution would be to buy/read/sort everything that has been released about Dark Sun, but it’s just not feasible to take the time/energy/resources to do that.

There’s things like TSRarchive.com, but those don’t tell me what the license is for sharing them, only what articles exists. Which is a great starting point, but then if I see a magic item from Dune Traders that somebody posted on their blog and I think “Oh, I should include that in my adaptation” then it takes me forever to find out if I need to buy Dune Traders or if Dune Traders has been released under CC BY-SA 4.0 and I’m good to take what has been shared with me and adapt it, or if it’s been listed under something else, or whatever.